Review: ColorWare – Beats By Dre Studio Illusion’s

Hey 🙂 this is a review and a pre-review all rolled into one. I came across the ColorWare site purely by accident – I can’t even remember what I was searching for :S. ColorWare is a company who custom paint gidgits and gadgets – From phones, headphones and PS3’s to iPad’s, MacBooks and Segway’s! So I perused the site for a while and decided I would opt for a custom iPod classic. I spent way to long coming up with wacky colour combinations, playing with the different paint finishes until I designed the iPod of my dreams. I impulsively ordered the said iPod and eagerly awaited its arrival.

Two weeks later my postman greeted me with a smile and a parcel, She had finally arrived in Blighty! I eagerly opened the box and I was not disappointed in the slightest. The finish was amazing, the colours vibrant, and it definitely didn’t feel like they scrimped on quality. The complements started rolling in, and I must admit I tried to keep my new-found favorite site a secret.

I loved my iPod so much that I went back on the site to see what else I could justify buying. I settled on a pair of Beats By Dre Studio’s. Now these headphones are anything but perfect to me – Style wise there ok but quality wise I definitely would give them two thumbs down. There flimsy, clunky, and they literally eat batteries! I travel quite a bit and before I even arrive at the airport the batteries would be half empty! So you always need to keep AAA’s in reserve. Also the sound leak is RIDICULOUS, If you like to listen to your music pretty loud (as do I) be prepared for some disgruntled looks from member’s of the public who don’t appreciate your taste in music. Literally you can clearly hear every note played and every word spoken. I however didn’t know all of this info when I happily clicked away, creating my second masterpiece inspired by my muse – Iron Man :). So after numerous red and gold combinations I finally settled on the one. Click – they were ordered.

I had never held a pair of Studio’s at this point and during a shopping trip popped into an electronics superstore, There they were. I rushed over to the display excited and my heart sank, they felt so cheap I likened then to a child’s toy. They quality just wasnt there for the price and the more popular demo pairs were slack – meaning they couldn’t be adjusted as the locking mechanism just wouldn’t lock :(. So I returned home deflated and no longer looking forward to my new purchase.

once again two weeks later I receive another package and begin the unboxing process. Shocked was my reaction. They were nothing like the Beats in the electrical store! Gone was the flimsy, cheap, loose headphones and in their place were a pair of super sturdy, high quality and visually stunning one’s. SO HAPPY! ColorWare don’t just spray the headphones the colour of your choice, they totally disassemble them, paint them and re-build them. Leaving you with a quality end product.

Once again the compliments started and I again couldnt fault ColorWare.

A few weeks back I received an email informing me of their latest addition to the Beats line – The Beats by Dre Studio illusion’s. My mouth fell open when I saw the pearlescent finish, they were sparkly, iridescent, glittery and fabulous! They were everything I love rolled into one.

The illusions come in their colours – Red to Gold, Gold to Silver, and Blue to Red, and are only available for a limited time. I once again found myself on the ColorWare site staring intently at the image in front of me when the $1000 (£600 approx) price tag hit me. This is a huge mark up from the $500 (£300 approx) price for a regular custom pair of these headphones. However I once again continued forward opting for the blue to red option. I’m holding high hopes for these headphones, and fingers crossed I wont be let down. When they arrive I’ll be doing an unboxing and review video, so with these headphones 1st impressions definitely count.

ColorWare uses a liquid plastic coating called X2, Which is scratch and UV resistant and I must admit so far my products look almost identical to when I received them. That leads me to believe that these headphones will be just as stunning a few years down the line. So if you have a spare $1000 lying around and are looking for a set of conversation starting headphones – I guess these are for you.

WWW.COLORWARE.COM

13 thoughts on “Review: ColorWare – Beats By Dre Studio Illusion’s

    • Hi 🙂 personally the paint on mine has not rubbed off, it’s a strong coating they put on the product and isn’t like a normal paint. However I can’t guarantee they will stay 100% flawless as I’m sure how you look after them helps keep them at there best. I always wipe them off every now and then with a dry cloth and make sure there in the case when not in use and mine still have the same impact as when i first bought them. I hope that helps 🙂

      Like

  1. theabhinator says:

    Hi I was wondering what colour combinations you used for your iron man looking beats. they look so amazing, im not whether i should use lightning or gold rush for the gold look. thanks 🙂

    Like

  2. What’s up to every one, for the reason that I am truly eager of reading this web site’s post to be updated on a regular basis.
    It consists of nice information.

    Like

Leave a Reply

