Awesome Story! My boyfriend proposed to me by hacking Zelda!

I stumbled upon a very touching article where a Zelda-loving couple recently got engaged after boyfriend hacked an emulated version of The Legend of Zelda to display a “will you marry me?” screen upon entering the cave at the beginning to collect your wooden sword. Totally cool way, well cool as it gets for geeky couples, to ask a girl’s hand in marrigae.

“We had been playing the original Legend of Zelda on an emulator the previous weekend. (My fiance owns the original NES cartridge too, but the emulator makes hacking easier.) A few nights before, he and his roommate finished it, so he asked if I wanted to do the second quest. I said sure, so he turned on the computer and I started playing. When I entered the cave with the old man,  (who normally says “It’s dangerous to go alone. Take this!”) who gives you a sword, it instead said what you see in the picture above. I looked over at my fiance; he was kneeling and holding a heart container made out of Legos. The ring was inside.”

“Edit: Many of you have asked if we are planning on doing a Zelda wedding. I think that’s a bit too nerdy for us, but we will probably do an Indian fusion wedding, because my fiancé is half Indian (as in his family is from India). Maybe we can put Link and Zelda on a cake :-) .”

[ign.com]


One thought on “Awesome Story! My boyfriend proposed to me by hacking Zelda!

Leave a Reply

