TV Review!: Once Upon A Time Episode 5

First of all, I must say that I was so disappointed to have had to wait a week longer for the next episode of this series. I didn’t expect but I am completely hooked on this series. All the episodes are so creative and there is so much context to each storyline. This episode did not disappoint and if you haven’t seen it yet, I suggest you do so before checking out my review.
The interactions that Henry has with Archie, his psychologist (aka Jiminy Cricket) are very intriguing. I foresee him being a hero eventually. I can tell that he wants to do right by Henry but is still feeling conflicted due to his fear of The Mayor. I feel that the constant pressure by the mayor will eventually bring him to his breaking point. He knows he is not the man he wants to be which is a step in the right direction and I’m glad that he is beginning to listen to his conscience and to be who he wants to be.
I was expecting to learn about the background of another princess or prince but was pleasantly surprised to have the chance to learn about Jiminy Cricket. The history gave me much more insight into this character and allows the audience to empathize with his present day conflict of interest. The background of this character had so much more depth than I would have ever imagined and literally made me gasp at some moments. Not to give too much away but it seems that a horrible mistake in his past made him the person that he is today.
I found it so interesting when Archie has a conversation with Rumpelstiltskin in the fairytale world and states, “I want to be free, I want to be something else but something keeps holding me back.” It seems that he is feeling the same way in the present day when it comes to feeling suffocated by the mayor’s wrath. I wanted to stand up and applaud when Archie finally stood up to the mayor to tell her to stop interfering with his treatments.
I was completely on edge watching Emma get deputized and I’m just waiting for the secret to come out of about the relationship between the mayor and the sheriff. The acting was well played but I’m left to wonder whether the mayor knew the whole time and was behind this decision
I don’t know how I feel about the interactions with Mary Margaret and Prince Charming. As I watched them play games in the hospital room, I couldn’t help feel that the situation was a little sleazy, especially when Katherine (the wife) walked in.
Though it seems like a romantic idea, I really didn’t enjoy the scene where Mary Margaret and Prince walked along the waterfront and he expressed his romantic feelings towards her. And then… Katherine shows up with a basket of muffins!!
It seems that if they were together in the fairy tale world that they would also be together in this world but I am still left to wonder how that will happen without making one of them out to be heartless.
Maybe I’m naïve, but the Mayor leaves me feeling so confused. For the past few episodes, I’ve seen her plot and be vindictive. However seeing the anguish in her eyes when Henry is lost in the cave makes me wonder if she is all that bad. When Henry is rescued, her emotions do seem truly genuine (for a moment at least). I would love to see an episode with a storyline about the history of her character.
Needless to say, I am just counting down the days until the next episode. Be sure to catch it on ABC on Sundays at 8pm. Or you can always rely on Hulu if you missed an episode. Happy viewing !

~ CT

Check out the Link for the episode in question.

http://www.hulu.com/embed/zTkjw42JunYVGySy1JQA_g

Leave a Reply

